Skip To Main Content

Board of Trustees

Board Members
Hillsboro ISD Board of Directors
Hillsboro ISD is governed by seven elected individuals who review and approve budget and other policies to ensure adherence to all state educational standards and regulations.
The Board of Trustees holds its regular monthly meeting on the second Monday of each month at 6 p.m. in the Board Room located at the HISD Administration Office.




Mr. Gerardo "Jerry Carbajal

Vice President (2020-2023 term)




Mrs. Stephanie Johnson

Trustee (2022-2025 term)



Mr. Guadalupe "Lupe" Mancha

Trustee (2020-2023 term)



Mr. John Sawyer

Secretary (2022-2025 term)



Dr. Amanda Scarborough

Trustee (2021-2024 term)



Dr. Christopher Teague

President (2021-2024 term)



Ms. Brooke Thompson

Trustee (2021-2024 term) 

Mr. Gerardo "Jerry" Carbajal

Place 2

Gerardo "Jerry" Carbajal not only serves as vice president of  the school board but is also Director of Hillsboro Boys and Girls Club.  In 1998 he received his bachelor's degree in Business Administration from The University of Texas at Austin and in 2004 he received his master's degree in Health Care Administration from Our Lady of the Lake University in San Antonio.  He is very active in the community and is  involved in the future of Hillsboro ISD.  He and his wife, Irene, have three children who attend school in the district.


Mrs. Stephanie Johnson


Stephanie Johnson is an attorney at Martin, Showers, Smith & McDonald Law Firm in Hillsboro.  She is a 1993 graduate of Hillsboro High School.  She continued her education at Baylor University where she earned a Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance and then graduated from Baylor University School of Law in 1999.  She and her husband, Scott, have two children who attend school in the district. 


Mr. Guadalupe "Lupe" Mancha

Vice President,  Place 4  

Born and educated in Mexico, Lupe Mancha came to the United States in 1985 and became an official citizen in 1993. He is a local professional who owns his own building construction company, LM Enterprises. Mr. Mancha was elected to the HISD School Board in 2001 and supports innovative educational strategies that move the district forward academically. He and his wife, Linda, have two sons who graduated from the district.


Mr. John Sawyer

Secretary, Place 5 

John Sawyer is a fourth generation Hill County farmer.  He is a graduate of Hillsboro High School and Texas A&M University, where he earned a Bachelor of Science and Masters of Agriculture. Sawyer began his service on the HISD School Board in 2010 and wants to do whatever he can to ensure students are receiving the best possible education. He and his wife, Natasha, have two children who have graduated from the district.


Dr. Amanda Scarborough

Place 1 

Dr. Amanda Scarborough is a dentist at Hill County Dental in Hillsboro. She grew up in Hillsboro and graduated from Hillsboro High School.  She continued her education at Texas A&M University where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Science in 1999 and completed her education with a Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in 2003. She and her husband, Stuart, have three children. 


Dr. Christopher Teague

President, At-Large

Dr. Christopher Teague is a physician at Providence Family Health Clinic-Hillsboro and has served on the HISD Board since 2003. He was born and raised in Lafayette, Indiana, and spent his later school years in Houston. He received his medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in 1993. Dr. Teague is proud of the progress that HISD has made and is committed to continued advancement in student achievement. 


Ms. Brooke Thompson

Place 3 

Brooke Thompson is a Quality Assurance Specialist with the Health & Human Service Commission. Outside of college, Thompson has lived in Hillsboro her entire life and is excited to be a part of the community.